Just another WordPress.com site

Flores Meat Tacos

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Skinny: Discovered  Flores Meat Market on Yelp and the one hype that made me want to test the place out was that it was a spot a reviewer didn’t want others to find.  A few other reviewers wrote about how the Carne Asada burrito was tasty and that it couldn’t get more authentic, especially since no one spoke English there.  So I checked it out with my brother lived and his family.

The High: Just on sight alone, going into a meat market and seeing the way they had the food laid out, got me excited.  My brother ordered something I can’t name, but it’s basically a red beef stew with rice and re-fried beans as sides.   That was the only good thing I had.  It was moist and tasty, thanks mostly to the gravy that kept it lubricated throughout the day.

The Low: Everything else was dried out.  I ordered Tacos with Buche for myself, but they were salty and it felt like I was eating overcooked pieces of squid that’s been laying around for a few days.  I also tried the Carnitas and Pastor and both were tough to swallow.  The Carnitas especially was hard to chew thanks to the lack of moisture.   The place was also pretty stingy about their condiments, like bags of chopped onions, sour cream, and salsa.   Even though we got over 30 dollars worth of food, they only gave us one of each and if my brother had not been there with his fluent Spanish, we’d probably have to pay for the plastic forks as well.  Also, their Chicharones was tougher than a tree bark laid out on top of the hottest salt flats.   It won’t go to waste though, it’ll be chopped up and used for soups and salads later.

I was really disappointed with Flores, especially since I really wanted to eat tacos that day.  There was actually an El Gallito truck in the same parking lot, I should have just went there…even though Flores Meats and El Gallito are somehow connected.

Would you come back again? No….even though I might have came at the wrong the time. I went there for dinner, so maybe it would have been better if I came during lunch hour when the meats haven’t been laid out all day long.

More Info: Yelp | 1200 W Anaheim St. Wilmington, CA 90744N | Credit Card Friendly

– MJ

Leave a Reply

