Just another WordPress.com site

Las Vegas: Akira Back’s Yellowtail

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Skinny: One of my favorite Japanese restaurants on the strip.  Akira Back is an amazing chef with his fresh & innovative dishes.  The main dining overlooks the beautiful water fountains of Bellagio Hotel with the Paris hotel’s Eiffle tower in the background.  The ultimate spot for all the movers & shakers of the nightlife industry.  The service itself is enough for me to come back.  If you ever get to meet the GM Young, he is such a wonderful person, tons of energy & he is the epitomy of customer service.  The food is a little of what you expect in a Japanese restaurant and some of it you sort of think to yourself WHAT? No way. This restaurant is definitely for a more complex palate.

The High: My #1 favorite dish of all time at  Yellowtail is the Big Eye Tuna Pizza with truffle oil.  I’ve recommended this dish up and down to everyone I know and not one person has come back to tell me that I was wrong.  Yes, it’s THAT good. My next favorite dish is the Tempura Alaskan King Crab w/ serrano peppers & sweet ponzu sauce.  The texture and flavors of the the dish go well with each other with a little bite coming from the serrano pepper.  The pop rocks roll is always a crowd pleasure.  My friend had never tried this before.  I was nice enough to tell her what it was, but the first time I had tried it, no one told me.  I took a bite of it and it was crunchy and the candy started exploding in my mouth.  It is literally a party in your mouth.   You taste the sweetness of the watermelon poprocks, but it doesn’t take away from the spicy crab.

The Low: Rock shrimp with Korean chili aioli.  It’s not really a low, but once you’ve tasted the tempura Alaskan king crab the rock shrimp’s flavor didn’t really appeal to me.  Either which way, if you’re going to have the rock shrimp or the tempura king crab, choose one or the other and try the other for another day.  I’ve had the rock shrimp before and it was delicious, but tonight I think the crab won.

Would you come back again? Absolutely.  Any day, anytime.  Well ok…..maybe not any day, any time…..it may get a little expensive, but this is definitely one of my restaurants of choice.

More Info: Yellowtail Website : Traditional & Modern Japanese menu;  expect to spend $55+ per person based on a 3 course dinner

Sniper Tam *pew pew pew!*

Leave a Reply

