Just another WordPress.com site

El Gallito y Sinaloa #3 Tacos

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Skinny: El Gallito is a taco truck that can be found almost anywhere in Los Angeles.  The one I went to was on Pacific Coast Highway in Lomita and on Washington Blvd near Culver City.  Taco Sinaloa #3 is a sit-down restaurant in Torrance which I found on Yelp.  Reviewers recommended the Pastor, so I got that along with their Buche (pig stomache), which is my favorite meat of choice.  So I got the Buche at El Gallito’s, along with their Carnitas and the little more expensive Tripas.

The High: El Gallito’s Buche and Tripas were great, both texturally and in flavor.  The Tripas were chewy and the amount of Buche was plentiful.  I just wish the Tripas were a bit crispy around the edges.

The Low: El Gallito’s Carnitas wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great either. The pork was a bit dry and lacked flavor, even with the chopped onions and red salsa I put on top.  I would have used the green salsa they provided, but it was frozen….so I couldn’t.  

Taco Sinaloa #3’s version of the Buche taco started off well because some of the pieces were crispy and it was packed with flavor.  The second bite I took felt like I was chomping down onto a soft salt lick doohickey.  I could literally feel my brain fluids be sucked out by all the sodium that was in that taco.

The Pastor that people raved about on Yelp was a complete disappointment.  I ordered two of them but only managed to finish one.  My biggest problem with it was that it just tasted like bland pieces of pork puffs that got re-hydrated by the amount of oil used to cook it.  I was expecting chucks of pork that were sliced off a gyro looking hunk of mystery meats….but got mushy blobs instead.

Would you come back again? Yes to El Gallito and no to Taco Sinaloa #3. I just hope I went to Taco Sinaloa on a bad day because their Buche could have been my favorite

More Info: El Gallito – www.tacoselgallito.com // Taco Sinaloa #3Yelp

MJ

Leave a Reply

